Looking for Players

by

Hi All,

Looking for some players to play:

1) 30th November in George Square for GFW.  More details to follow when we have them.  Davie will organise this.
People in so far are, Frances, Craig, Neil, Alison, Ali2, Davie and Valerie. It is going to be in a marque so there will be plenty of room for us so we are not limited by numbers, just come along and have some fun. There is a plan, currently it is starting at 12pm and finishing at 2pm. Ourselves and the “yeuks” (it’s at times like this I wish I could spell Ukulele, may be one day…) are sharing the limelight. We will take turns at performing then helping to promote GFW handing out leaflets, looking happy etc. between 12 and 2pm every half hour we will play for 10mins then break for 20 mins and try to encourage passers by to join in. Then another 10min set and then 20mins of press gang duty. Repeat until 2pm. We will take turns between us and the uku’s not sure who is going to go first.

So if anyone has any preference for 2×10 mins sets of tunes, I think we should try our slightly more jolly uplifting tunes. The crowd are unlikely to be hanging around for the 2 hours so we could repeat the same 10 min set if that is what people want to do. Let me know any favourites you have and then I’ll ignore this and just pick my favorites anyway 😉

2) 17th December sometime between 4-6pm at Glasgow University Library charity fair for Alzheimer’s Scotland.  We can probably ask for the later slot if that suits better.  Valerie will organise this.  Who’s in?  Neil, Craig, Valerie, Maureen, Frances, Davie, Ian, Roy, Carol, Tom,  Des, maybe Alison S.  That should be enough folk but if you are really keen let me know.

Draft play list open to complete revamp as suits us  – please comment or email valeriemcc@hotmail.co.uk to say if there are tunes on there you feel uncomfortable playing or want to suggest others.

Draft Play List for Alzheimer’s Scotland Fair 17 December 2013

George Sq Solo by Frances?

George Sq Solo by Frances?

12 Responses to “Looking for Players”

  1. Frances Says:

    Oh no!!!!!!!! You should have told me i had a hole in my t shirt!!!!!
    Hope to attend both events. But no solos!!! And from now on inspect me before I go on.

  2. Roy Says:

    Put me down for the 17th Dec please.
    cheers
    Roy

  3. Neil Says:

    Dont worry Frances, I look like a burst couch myself! 🙂

  4. craigmac56 Says:

    I am good for both dates.
    thanks
    craig

  5. Neil Says:

    Stick me down for both as well please, thx Neil

  6. alisononthefiddle Says:

    If you still need players, would like to come along to the George Square event on 30th. Alison

    >

  7. Ali2 Says:

    Am free for George square on 30th too

  8. Ian (Bodhran) Says:

    I’m free for the 17th!

    • Valerie Says:

      I assumed you were in 😉 so still looking just for another fiddle – maybe two – list at my work so I will summarise who is going to be there on this blog soon.

      I think: Neil, Craig, Valerie, Maureen, Frances, Davie, Ian, Roy.

  9. Carol Says:

    I hope to come to the Glasgow University gig on 17th November, if there’s still room ? Thanks.

  10. Carol Says:

    Re previous comment – I meant 17th December, not November !

  11. Ian (Bodhran) Says:

    Nae luck folks, it looks like I can do the 30th as well!

Leave a Reply

