The 10th Neil Gow Fiddle Festival

by

Went on an expedition to Dunkeld today.

Popped in to a couple of workshops (fiddle, guitar, fiddle making talk with Ian Ross), liked the hornpipe thanks.  Bought the CD with the jauntiest tunes (I hope) will let you know when I manage to get the cellaphane off.

Then after the pub there was a concert which included Rua MacMillan.  Rua included Neil Gow’s Lament for James Moray of Abercairney which I played once at my fiddle class (I think the folk who had been attending longer had learned it previously) and is the first lament I actually like.  I do like to hear different versions of tunes.  Maybe I will learn this one as my token lament.

Rua

Rua

Couldn’t resist buying a book – managed to make it a history one rather than more tunes that I am unlikely to get round to.

Had to leave before the evening concert but had a good day out.

 

 

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

